Baker at Heart ♥

Food in my mouth and food in my mind.

Posted on: March 9, 2013

Last Wednesday, my mom asked me to bake some cream cheese brownies. Being a good daughter that I am, I decided to make a batch of blondies as well. I went to the grocery store (which is known for stocking eclectic and high-end/foreign-made stuff) looking for some butterscotch chips. I know that in this side of the world, butterscotch chips don’t exist, but that time, I was secretly hoping that I’d be able to find a bag.   I didn’t find one, but I saw some Reese’s peanut butter chips so I grabbed a bag (plus a small cup of Ben & Jerry’s cookie dough ice cream!) and went home. Started baking and these came out from the oven –

IMG_5772

Totally awesome. Unfortunately, I only got to eat few pieces each since these were for my mom’s friends. Lucky them.

So back to the peanut butter chips. I don’t know what to to do with them, but I have already spied on some food blogs and peanut butter blondies seems to be the best thing to do next. I also have some cream cheese bricks here. I went to the grocery yesterday again and I saw that there was a buy-1-take-1 promo on them. These babies are going to expire on March 31st though, explaining the sale. I bought some cornmeal too, plus Oreos and pancake mixes. Ah, my love for grocery window shopping and the actual shopping is endless. Too bad I get broke afterwards.

I have peanut butter chips, cream cheese bars, cornmeal, Oreos and pancake mixes. Actually scratch that, I made wicked Oreos this morning (double-stuffed Oreos!!!) and this was the result –

IMG_5791

I just dipped them into the batter and fried them (not deep-fried, didn’t have enough oil at home). I don’t know how to make the batter stick to the cookies, though, that’s why they ended up looking like that.

Peanut butter chips for peanut butter blondies. Check. Cream cheese bars for individual cheesecake cups. Check. I just have to buy milk, eggs, sour cream and more butter. I love buying and stocking up on butter.

On another note, since I have been searching the Internet for recipes for the past few days, I occasionally stumble upon local food blogs talking about the local dining scene. From home-cooked meals, to fast-food dining and now to eclectic, specialized restaurants, it’s nice to know that the people here are becoming more adventurous and maybe mature when it comes to food. There are burger bars, ramen bars, all-day breakfast restaurants popping up all around the metro. And here I am, wishing that I can try them all. I don’t mind shelling out extra money to eat because in the end, it’s the experience that will make these things memorable. Actually as I type this down, I’m imagining myself sinking my teeth into some juicy burger patty (I hate buns, I just want to eat the meat).

Food. Food. Food. I’m posting recipes for the next entry. FOOD.

Leave a Reply

